Government Accountability Office Releases Special Focus List

If the GAO succeeds the number of nursing facilities on the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Special Focus Facility (SFF) list from 135 to 580. The GAO enhanced the list by altering the methodology used by the CMS to make SFF designations. The changes include the use of a national rather than a state-based comparison and incorporating CMS Five Star Quality Rating scoring into the calculation. The GAO explained that its expanded list differs substantially from the CMS list. The list will contain the names and addresses of the facilities, which are identified as “the most poorly performing.” Hopefully this new list will help deter residents from choosing nursing homes guilty of elderly abuse. To take a look at the old nursing home list, please click the link.

Lawyer Monthly - Legal Awards Winner
The National Trial Lawyers
Elder Care Matters Alliance
American Association for Justice
Fellow Litigation Counsel of America
Super Lawyers