Published on:

New Elder Abuse Legislation Raises Penalties

The state of California has just enacted nursing home legislation that increases elder abuse penalties. The bill takes effect on January 1, 2010 and will increase fines from $6,000 to $10,000 for those found guilty of placing an elder or dependent adult in situations where great bodily harm or death is likely. The new nursing home legislation increases fines from $2,000 to $5,000 for those found guilty of placing an elder or dependent adult in dangerous situations not likely to cause death or serious bodily injury. The bill is aimed at protecting those 65 and older. The nursing home legislation highlights that elder abuse has been a hidden, pervasive and deadly crime where 84 percent of cases go unreported. This type of nursing home legislation should be passed in Illinois. To read more about the new bill, please click the link.